Who Has The Most Super Bowl Titles?

The National Football League holds its championship game, known as the Super Bowl.  The Super Bowl is widely considered to be one of the most prestigious sports awards. Since 1966, it has been the championship game to cap off each and every NFL season. The Vince Lombardi Trophy is awarded to the victor of the game. The trophy has been won by a number of different teams over the years.

While there are some teams who have never won or even made it to the Super Bowl, there are other teams that have racked up a significant number of trophies during the course of their existence. We have witnessed a total of 20 different teams emerge victorious in the championship game. In this article, we discuss the team who has the most Super Bowl Titles.

ChampionNumber of TitlesYear
New England Patriots62001, 2003, 2004, 2014, 2016, 2018
Pittsburgh Steelers61974, 1975, 1978,1979, 2005, 2008
San Francisco 49ers51981, 1984, 1988, 1989, 1994
Dallas Cowboys51971, 1977, 1992, 1993, 1995
Green Bay Packers41966,1967, 1996, 2010
New York Giants41986, 1990, 2007, 2011
Denver Broncos31997,1998, 2015
Washington Commanders31982, 1987, 1991
Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders31976, 1980, 1983

New England Patriots (6 Times)

They have been one of the league’s best teams for the past decade. In the last 20 years, they have won the trophy six times. They had a tough road ahead of them till 2002. While their 2018 victory over the Kansas City Chiefs was spectacular, their 2016 comeback victory over the Atlanta Falcons was truly remarkable.

They’re on one of the best streaks in NFL history. The duo of head coach Bill Belichick and quarterback Tom Brady began their dominance in 2001. They last won the trophy in 2018.

Pittsburgh Steelers (6 Times)

Pittsburgh Steelers are the joint title holder with New England Patriots. They are one of the historic and oldest teams in the NFL. They last won the trophy in 2008. The team is the first to win four Super Bowl titles in six seasons. Still remains the only team to win the title back-to-back twice. At that time, a team was assembled that was considered to be one of the best ever.

San Francisco 49ers (5 Times)

The San Francisco 49ers are the 5 time Super Bowl winner. Over the years, they have provided some of the most legendary players NFL has ever seen.  The squad has established a number of noteworthy records in the NFL. In the ’80s, they were known as the team of the decade. They had one of the best NFL seasons in 1989.

Between 1981 and 1994, the San Francisco 49ers won a total of five Super Bowl titles. Their latest Super Bowl win came in 1994. The San Francisco 49ers are ranked as the sixth most valuable team in the National Football League by Forbes.

Dallas Cowboys (5 Times)

Dallas Cowboys are the joint 5-time winner, along with the San Francisco 49ers. Their last Super Bowl win came in 1996 against Pittsburgh Steelers.

The Dallas Cowboys have the record for the most consecutive winning seasons in the National Football League, with 20 between the years 1966 and 1985. The Dallas Cowboys established a new standard for the value of a sports franchise in 2018. They become the first team in any sport to reach a valuation of $5 billion. As a result, they are now the most valuable sports franchise in the world.

Green Bay Packers (4 Times)

Green Bay Packers have a total of 13 titles which is the most in NFL history. It includes 4 Super Bowl titles and Nine pre-Super Bowl titles.  They have the record 804 wins in NFL history.

The Green Bay Packers are the only professional sports team in the United States that is owned by the community and operates without making a profit. They were the last of the “small-town clubs” that dominated the National Football League.

New York Giants (4 Times)

Newyork giants are another famous team with four Super Bowl titles. They beat New England Patriots twice with a 16- 0 margin. The Giants won their last Super Bowl title in 2012.

In 1987, the New York Giants defeated the Denver Broncos. It is their first-ever victory in the Super Bowl. The squad was captained by legendary quarterback Phill Simms. He was awarded the Most Valuable Player trophy. That time they coached Hall of Fame head coach Bill Parcells.

Denver Broncos (3 Times)

Currently, the Broncos are a member of the American Football Conference (AFC). Denver Broncos are the next team on the list with 3 Super Bowl titles. A back-to-back triumph was achieved in 1998 and 1999 by them. At that time, they had some legendary players, including John Elway, Terrell Davis, Ed McCaffrey, and Shannon Sharpe. They last won Super Bowl in 2015.

Washington Commanders (3 Times)

Washington Commanders won the Super Bowl 3 times. Last, they won the Super Bowl in 1991. In 1991 they were considered one of the best teams in NFL history. The franchise achieved three Super Bowl victories under the leadership of Pro Football Hall of Fame coach Joe Gibbs in 1982, 1987, and 1991. Joe Gibbs has the most wins under his name for the Washington Commanders.

Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders (3 Times)

The Los Angeles Raiders, who later relocated to Oakland, were 3 time Super Bowl champions. The Raiders became the undisputed champions of the NFL for the first time in 1977.  Their most recent success in the Super Bowl would take place in 1984.


Is there any NFL team that has won three consecutive Super Bowls?

No team in the history of the NFL has done that yet.

What division has had every team win a championship?

The NFC East is the only division where every team has won the Super Bowl. 

How many Super Bowl rings does Tom Brady own?

He won a total of 7. Six of those victories occurred during Brady’s tenure with the New England Patriots. After agreeing to join the Buccaneers for the 2020 season, Brady won his sixth Super Bowl.

Golam Muktadir is a passionate sports fan and a dedicated movie buff. He has been writing about both topics for over a decade and has a wealth of knowledge and experience to share with his readers. Muktadir has a degree in journalism and has written for several well-known publications, including Surprise Sports.